What exams can homeschoolers give in the US?

Exams that provide them with grades.

I was applying for a summer program which asked me to show ‘school credentialing of academics’. I guess that means showing some grades.

I searched and found the common exams- IGCSE, AP, A level, SAT- 2, GED….

Are there more exams for homeschoolers?

Thank you.

Written Sep 18, 2016

I suggest you contact the summer program administrators and ask if you can provide a summary of the completed work (similar to a resume), or if they have any recommendations for how a homeschooler can demonstrate “credentialing”.

 

There are very few requirements for homeschoolers to take exams.

However, there are several reasons to give exams, or tests.

The first is to evaluate a student’s understanding, and progress. This is a type of test that I would reasonably expect to give to a homeschooler. It provides me, as the “teacher”, feedback on the effectiveness of what I am trying to teach, and it can also provide the student feedback on progress. This type of test is informal, and does not need to be recorded.

Another type of exam, or test, can be administered at the end of a topic to demonstrate understanding. In a school setting, this would be considered the “grade” for a course, and would be recorded. In a homeschool setting, I would prefer to have some type of product to demonstrate completion. For example, I would consider my daughter’s writing efforts, which she publishes online, as demonstration of her progress.

Sometimes I have my daughter participate in an online class. For example, she is currently enrolled in a Latin class. At the end of the term, the teacher will assign a grade, which will be recorded in her student folder (which I keep).

She also takes piano and violin classes. Her certificates from performances at festivals provide demonstration of her progress.

In our state, a homeschool student has to demonstrate satisfactory progress on an annual basis. This can be accomplished either by participating in statewide assessment tests, or having a written assessment by a certified teacher. I have chosen to have her participate in the statewide testing. This provides objective assessment of her performance in the event that we decide she should go back to public school.

Additionally, I have had her participate in a nationally recognized assessment test (ACT). Her results on this test allow her to qualify for certain programs.

Eventually, she will likely take SAT tests, which are fairly common assessments used for college admissions.

Philosophically, and being aware of the preponderance of evidence that suggests that testing can be counterproductive, I am opposed to the general ideas of tests for ranking purposes. However, I also recognize the necessity for certain tests to open doors for continued access to higher learning, if that is what she decides.

